Fulton County, Indiana

Fulton County is focused on creating a prosperous future while preserving our history.

Inheritance Tax

For Individuals dying before January 1, 2013:

Inheritance Tax is calculated based on all assets owned by a person at the time of their death. The current, state-prescribed forms must be submitted in the county where the decedent lived at the time of death. Completed IH-14 forms are approved by and filed with the Assessor's office. The Inheritance Tax return, Form H-6, is due within 9 months from the date of death and should be filed with both the County Clerk's office and the Assessor's office.

The Assessor's office audits the Inheritance Tax returns and therefore cannot assist in the preparation of any Inheritance Tax documents. Please consult an attorney or tax professional for assistance in completing the documents.

NOTICE - Inheritance Tax Repealed:

Indiana's inheritance tax was repealed for individuals dying after Dec. 31, 2012. No inheritance tax returns (Form IH-6 for Indiana residents and Form IH-12 for nonresidents) have to be prepared or filed. : No tax has to be paid. In addition, no Consents to Transfer (Form IH-14) personal property or Notice of Intended Transfer of Checking Account (Form IH-19) are required for those dying after Dec. 31, 2012.

Contact Us

Assessor's Office
(More about Assessor's Office)
125 E 9th St
Suite 026
Rochester, IN 46975
Get Directions

In this Department

In this Department

Topics of Interest